Three Leinster players among five nominees for European player of the year award

Leinster trio Garry Ringrose, Sean Cronin and Tadhg Furlong are among the nominations for this season's European player of the year award.

Leinster will face Saracens in the Heineken Champions Cup final at St James' Park, Newcastle on May 11.

And a shortlist of five players announced by tournament organisers European Professional Club Rugby is completed by Saracens duo Alex Goode and Mako Vunipola.

The winner, and recipient of the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy, will be announced following the final.

Rob Kearney was the last Irish player to be recognised as European player of the year, with Leone Nakarawa the recipient last year.

Other previous winners include Saracens pair Owen Farrell and Maro Itoje, Jonny Wilkinson, Sean O'Brien, and Ronan O'Gara.

More on this topic

Healy banking on fans to neutralise enemy territory

Leinster make it clear: Sexton was not dropped

Devin Toner to miss Pro14 final

Nervous Flier’s seamless return massive boost for Schmidt

More in this Section

Victory sees Rovers keep pace with Dundalk

Hoban strikes late to break Bohs hearts again

Dream debut as teenager Bargary bags City winner

Tom Daley’s husband hits out at British Swimming in buggy row


Irish Examiner Sustainability Month special: Are retailers meeting customer expectations for sustainable products?

Making the most of Irish strawberries - Michelle Darmody shares her recipes

Making Cents: Help protect the planet and occupy the kids

Good Omens and great expectations

More From The Irish Examiner