Three Leinster players among five nominees for European player of the year award

Leinster trio Garry Ringrose, Sean Cronin and Tadhg Furlong are among the nominations for this season's European player of the year award.

Leinster will face Saracens in the Heineken Champions Cup final at St James' Park, Newcastle on May 11.

And a shortlist of five players announced by tournament organisers European Professional Club Rugby is completed by Saracens duo Alex Goode and Mako Vunipola.

The winner, and recipient of the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy, will be announced following the final.

Rob Kearney was the last Irish player to be recognised as European player of the year, with Leone Nakarawa the recipient last year.

Other previous winners include Saracens pair Owen Farrell and Maro Itoje, Jonny Wilkinson, Sean O'Brien, and Ronan O'Gara.

More on this topic

Leinster investigation into alleged incident 'concluded to the satisfaction of all parties'

Absent friends will be missed in Japan

Unrelenting thirst for medals brings more joy in blue

Even in victory, Saracens defeat still stuck in Leinster minds

More in this Section

Tipp get the better of champions but sides to meet again in Munster final

Victory not enough as Clare exit Championship

Clare withstand late rally to secure Munster MHC final berth

Colombia come to life in second half to beat Argentina 2-0


Sex advice: I'm worried she's not satisfied

Does your garden feel a bit too exposed? 7 solutions to stop nosy neighbours spoiling summer

5 stylish ways to wear white head-to-toe

How to out-smart hay fever this summer

More From The Irish Examiner